A group, under the aegis of Abia Group 17, has shortlisted some persons in Abia State as potential candidates to succeed Governor Okezie Ikpeazu in 2023.

The group which comprises of young Abia professionals expressed its readiness to support the best candidate in 2023.

The list was revealed on Tuesday in a statement by Coordinators of the group, Comrade Eruba Chris, Onu Okpo and Dr. Francis Amarachi Orji, noting that each of them has the capacity to take Abia State to greater height.

“Having watched closely all manners of names that are being propped up as Governor Okezie Ikpeazu’s successor in 2023, we are convinced that what Abia state needs right now is a bold, courageous and forthright leader who can take the bull by the horns and ensure the right thing is done always”.

“Abia state also needs a result-oriented leader with a proven track record that can sustain and consolidate the gains recorded by the current administration, especially in the area of infrastructural developments”.

The group urged Abians to pick from any of the listed individuals to elect as Abia’s next Governor come 2023.

The group shortlisted a former Chief of Army Staff, Lt. Gen. Azubuike Ihejirika Rtd; Speaker of the Abia State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Chinedum Orji; Deputy Governor of Abia State, Rt. Hon. Ude Oko Chukwu; Minister of State for Mines & Solid Minerals, Dr. Uche Ogah.

Others are legal luminary and Chairman of Lumos Nigeria, Mr. Etigwe Uwa SAN; Businessman and son of former deputy governor of Abia state, Engr. Enyinnaya Nwafor; a former Attorney General of Abia State, Barr. Umeh Kalu SAN; former Commissioner for Finance, Mr. Obinna Oriaku; Financial Expert, Dr. Ibe Okwara Osonwa; Technocrat, Ukpai Iro Ukpai PhD; Pro Chancellor of Gregory University, Prof. Greg Ibe; Ex- DSS Director, Chief Raymond Nkemdirim; Capt. Emma Mbaka, Chief Kalu Ijoma Ukeh, Chief Ncheta Omerekpe, Chief Okey Igwe, Hon. Uzo Ihuka, Hon. Ginger Onwusibe and Nma Lancaster Okoro

“We are ready to channel every available resources at our disposal to deliver any of them if nominated by either PDP or APC,” the group said.

The candidates were shortlisted from old Aba and Bende zones of the State.