Battle for the Next Speaker of Abia State House of Assembly Begins


As the 7th Abia state House of Assembly set to take its bow and usher in, the 8th Abia State House of Assembly, controversies have been raised over who will become the Speaker of the 8th Abia State House of Assembly after the March 18th 2023 governorship election in Abia state saw Labour Party(LP) winning the race to Government House, while PDP maintained its majority at the State Assembly, which they have maintained since the return of democracy in 1999. They lost the majority in 2007 to the Progressive People’s Alliance(PPA) which was formed by the then former Governor of Abia state, Dr Orji Uzor, which produced Chief T A Orji as Governor and Rt Hon Agwu U Agwu as the Speaker of the 3rd Abia State House of Assembly under PPA.

Presently, the PDP secured 11 seats, Labour Party 10 seats, YPP 2 seats and APC 1 seat.

As the cloud starts gathering ahead of the inauguration of the 8th Abia state House of Assembly, who will emerge the speaker of the House?

The Contenders:

1. Hon Solomon Akpulonu.

Words on the streets have it that the likes of Hon Solomon Akpulonu who is presently the Majority leader of the 7th Abia state House of Assembly, is clearly the favorite to land the job. He is coming back to the House for the third time in 10 years, representing the Good people of Obingwa East state constituency, clearly the most experienced and qualified out of the 24 members elect, but in the game of politics most especially the leadership of Legislation, experience counts but protecting the interest of the Executive comes first.
He is the most active House Member in the 7th Assembly with most bills and motions.
He is clearly the favorite for the seat and has the charisma of a speaker.

He will enjoy the support of the stakeholders in the state.

2. Hon Godwin Adiele:
started his journey as a member of Abia state House of Assembly in 2019 when he was elected into the 7th Assembly. He replaced Hon Tony Mezie Nwaubani of Ukwa West state Constituency. The former banker is a silent politician and doesn’t talk much, not relatively known in the legislative business but he is a clear favorite for the Job. He is coming back as a ranking member.

3. Hon Destiny Akaraka Nwagwu

A very familiar face in Aba and Abia community, also to the Independent National Electoral Committee INEC. Hon Destiny Akaraka Nwagwu contested for the state Assembly under the platform of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) in 2019 and was defeated by Hon Aaron Uzodike of the PDP.
He contested for the House of Representatives election in 2021 under APGA and lost to Hon Chimaobi Ebisike. He then joined APC sometime in 2021/2020 and later joined Labour Party in the build up to 2023 general election where he won the seat for Aba North State Constituency in the Abia state House of Assembly. He has no record of public service and lives a private life.

Information has it that he is the choice of Abia state Governor Elect Dr Alex Chioma Otti.

4.Hon Erondu Uchenna Erondu(Igodo Igwe) as popularly known in Abia and his local Government, is a close ally to Governor Ikpeazu and a former aide. Erondu Junior won his election to represent the good people of Obingwa West in the Abia State House of Assembly and as a first timer, he is already nursing the ambition of becoming the speaker of the 8th Abia State House Assembly. Without any factor hindering his ambition to become speaker, he may likely have the vote of all newcomers in the house under the platform of the PDP, as rumor has it that he was instrumental to them getting the PDP ticket to run for Abia state House of Assembly.

The Decider?

The Young progressive Party(YPP) may likely play a deciding role in who becomes the speaker of 8th Abia state House of Assembly, PDP has 11 members, Labour Party 10, YPP 2 and APC 1, with the All Progressive Congress rejecting the out come of March 18th Abia state House of Assembly election in Abia state, the possibility of the only House member elected under the platform of APC to pitch his tent with Labour is slim, we know it is a House business and not political party.

Can YPP, APC and PDP go into political marriage just to form a formidable opposition to the Executive?

The big question remains, Who takes over from Rt Hon Chinedum Enyinnaya Orji?

Note: The four Members elect captured in this article are yet to declare their interest for the office of the speaker.

Leave a Reply